Archive for Innovative Thinkers - page 2

The Singularity and schools: An interview with Vernor Vinge

The Singularity and schools: An interview with Vernor Vinge

John Moravec spoke with Vernor Vinge. His 1993 essay “The Coming Technological Singularity” argues that accelerating technological change will bring about the end of the human era as we know it, and that the world will become so complex and foreign to human observers, it will be impossible to predict what will happen next.

Continue reading →

Basti Hirsch: Rethink purposive uses of technologies in schools

I met up with Basti Hirsch at the NEXT Berlin 2012 conference last week. His work focuses on reinventing learning in the digital age. We chatted about what it would take to drive innovation in education, and some of what he believes are the most exciting examples we can learn from.

Continue reading →

Building enclaves of entrepreneurship education through pirate-like thinking

On Tuesday, I stopped by the NEXT Berlin 2012 conference at STATION-Berlin to meet up with young innovators in the European education sphere. I had the pleasure of chatting with Inês Silva, co-founder of the Startup Pirates, a one-week startup school that works with various communities around the planet.

Continue reading →

A conversation and workshop with the KaosPilots and Knowmads

A conversation and workshop with the KaosPilots and Knowmads

For those of us in the Minneapolis area, I’m pleased to share news that the KaosPilots and Knowmads will visit with the University of Minnesota for a free event on redesigning university education.

Continue reading →

Whose crazy idea is it anyway?

Whose crazy idea is it anyway?

As the 21st century digital revolution continues to disrupt the economy, and the traditional knowledge claim held by experts of the 20th century is making way for a global entrepreneurial mindset, (university) education finds itself on the verge of its most radical transformations since the industrial revolution. Whose Crazy Idea Is It Anyway is an academic endeavor that has the ambition to set the agenda in the educational landscape of the coming decade.

Continue reading →

Uffe Elbaek on social entrepreneurship

Uffe Elbaek on social entrepreneurship

Uffe Elbæk is a social entrepreneur, politician, and cultural leader in Denmark. In his knowmadic career so far, he founded the KaosPilots school in Århus, organized the World Outgames 2009, and the Change the Game consultancy. Currently, Uffe is running for a seat in the…

Continue reading →

Cobo and Moravec discuss Invisible Learning

Cobo and Moravec discuss Invisible Learning

John Moravec and Crisóbal Cobo engage in a one-to-one dialogue on new dimensions for thinking about learning. In this conversation, they share some of the most important ideas developed in the book, Aprendizaje Invisible (Invisible Learning), to be released next week. More information is available at www.invisiblelearning.com.

Continue reading →

“Reboelje!” – Invisible Learning in the Netherlands

“Reboelje!” – Invisible Learning in the Netherlands

The purpose of the Invisible Learning Tour was to raise awareness for the need for innovation in education. Mainstream teaching focuses mainly on the preparation of students for compartmentalized roles and jobs (mainly factory workers and bureaucrats) that contrast sharply with the needs of the modern economy, which requires people that are imaginative, creative, and innovative. We explored ideas, existing options, and new pathways for learning that is relevant for the 21st century.

Continue reading →

Invisible Learning conversation with Knowmads – Monday, June 7

Invisible Learning conversation with Knowmads – Monday, June 7

20:00 Netherlands and España 13:00 U.S. CDT and Mexico 15:00 Argentina 19:00 Portugal 21:00 Finland 14:00 Chile Next Monday, June 7, the Invisible Learning project invites you to participate in an open webinar with our invited guests: Knowmads (Amsterdam, Netherlands), a creative, entrepreneurial school for…

Continue reading →

Invisible Learning conversation with Juan Miguel Muñoz – May 24

Invisible Learning conversation with Juan Miguel Muñoz – May 24

On Monday, May 14, at 1pm (U.S. Central Time) the Invisible Learning project will host an open webinar with Juan Miguel Muñoz (Barcelona, Spain). This is not a conference, but an opportunity to converse, and exchange ideas and viewpoints in an open forum. (For this…

Continue reading →

Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4